australianrocketry.org
Getting it up Down Under
Sign Up!
Login
Welcome to australianrocketry.org
Tuesday, September 26 2017 @ 01:03 AM AEST
View Printable Version

Cairns connection in scramjet launch

You'd have to have been living under a rock to have missed the news coverage of last Friday's scramjet launch at Woomera. In today's The Cairns Post, more details have come into view.

Scramble into space
James O'Loan

"It's not every day you can go to Woomera and fire a rocket into space."

The understatement by Cairns' scramjet co-designer and AIMTEK principal, Prof Don Fry, comes after last Friday's spectacular launch of a scramjet from South Australia.

"We watched the rocket enter the outer reaches of space," he said. "The sound from the launch rocket motors was loud, followed 25 seconds after by the sonic boom of passing the sound barrier, then silence."

Topics

My Account





Sign up as a New User
Lost your password?

Events

There are no upcoming events

Older Stories

Thursday 13-Nov


Friday 29-Aug


Monday 05-May


Wednesday 05-Mar


Tuesday 04-Mar


Saturday 22-Dec


Friday 07-Dec


Thursday 29-Nov


Tuesday 02-Oct


Monday 01-Oct